Sunday, June 19, 2011

Still Looking for a Better Name

It's the Sunday 5x!

Oh, by the way, I've reached 100 followers which is kind of a minor milestone. A reader named "Shu" was the 100th follower. Thanks, Shu!

Top 5 Strangest Things You Can Buy on the Internet

1. Uranium for all you budding bomb makers.

Saturday, June 18, 2011

Project Time

Edit: Screw this, I'm using GameMaker.

      Since I have all of this free time, I have decided to learn a programming language and, hopefully by the end of the summer, code an entire game. I realize this is an exceptionally overwhelming task, but there are  two reasons I have an advantage over those who have failed.

1. I have never not been unsuccessful at nothing.

2. My buddy, who actually has a blog at, is assisting me; it's a two-man operation.

Tuesday, June 14, 2011

By the Nine Divines!

The content of said dreams is  up to the reader's discretion

       Woah, everyone. I'm getting a crazy amount of traffic. It's a bit pathetic that I'm so surprised, but, hell, who cares haha? To thank all of my loyal readers, I'm going to post some badass wallpapers I have laying around my computer. I'll simply post one with every post. Here's the first:

Sunday, June 12, 2011


    Every Sunday I'll be doing some sort of top 5 list. I could not think of some sort of clever alliteration between "Sunday" and "lists," so it will be called the Sunday 5x, unless you or I can come up with something better. With that all said, here is the first Sunday 5x!

 Top 5 Pieces of Video Game Music

1. What else did you expect?

Friday, June 10, 2011


I have neglected anime for a while now, but I feel as if I should post an article about it. In particular, I will be talking about K-On! and its cleverly named second season K-On!!.

Wednesday, June 8, 2011

Wii U at E3

     I think it's safe to say that Nintendo dominated E3 this year with its unveiling of the Wii U, and, honestly, they deserve. I was thoroughly impressed with the console, especially its controller.


Monday, June 6, 2011

My 5 Favorite Games that are Not Bioware or Pokemon (1 of 5)

      This list is pretty simple. I'm listing my favorite games that were not made by Bioware and involve no Pokemon. If I allowed those two, they would compose the entirety of the list. With that said, in no particular order, here they are!

 Half-Life 2 and its episodes, Valve

     A lot has been said about Half-Life 2, with good reason too. If you've played it, you know how it feels. Whether you're destroying Striders or running out of ammo in Ravenholm, the game, for the lack of a better term, succeeds. For those of you who have not played it, do yourself an immense favor and set aside some time to do so. I promise you, you will not regret it.

    I am not a fan of FPSs, but while I play as Gordan Freeman, things are much different. The atmosphere is so Orwellian, so revolutionary that the story challenges that of story-driven RPGs. As you play, you'll journey through a variety of environments, utilize several vehicles, use dozens of weapons, and probably definitely fall in love. Go play it now. Oh, by the way Valve, when the hell am I getting Episode 3?

Saturday, June 4, 2011

A Wizard is Never Late...

After many years of criticizing Steam, I have decided to download it to give it a try. Just for reference, by the way, I never liked it because I've always been a fan of actual copies of games. Now that I'm a member, I would like to know a few things:

  • Recommendations, so I have an idea where to start.
  • What you think about Steam and digital copies of game, in general.
By the way, I'll be posting my top 5 favorite video games for a certain criteria soon. Don't forget to come back and check it out.

Thursday, June 2, 2011

It's Been a While

        Hey internet, I know how long I've been away, but now that finals have ended, you'll have me back even more. In all seriousness though, sorry about my little hiatus there. School kind of picked up, and I had to devote less time to RR&M. Nonetheless, I will begin to post once again. I'm also trying to make this site as pretty as possible (see the sidebar). I'm going to put more effort now that I have more time.

Saturday, May 21, 2011

Goodbye Strangers

       Despite the fact that the rapture has arrived, I'll be giving you 3 posts this weekend, count'em 3! The first is about why EA is the one of the worst corporations in the United States. Yes, I realize that's a wild overstatement, but that's how I feel. My main complaint with them is their acquisition of smaller developers and how they ruin them. I'll use my all-time favorite developer Bioware as an example. Before becoming a part of EA, Bioware was making the most in depth RPGs on the market. I still, to this day, play Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic and Baldur's  Gate. Their games were known for close attention-to-detail and incredible story lines. However, this all changed when EA came along.

Wednesday, May 18, 2011

What I'm Currently Reading

The God Delusion, Richard Dawkins

     Richard Dawkins may not simply be one of the scientific minds of our time, but also one of the funniest. In The God Delusion, he is able to point out the many flaws in religion while detailing how incredible the evolutionary theory is. It is a great read, whether or not you believe in his views.

Sunday, May 15, 2011

Thank you, Sweden

     Just how fucking great is Ikea? I spent most of the day there today, and, let me tell you, the day was spent very well. I've been to Ikea dozens of times and each time I return, I fall in love all over again. I sat in one of the model rooms where I proceeded to watch The Muppets and take a nap. No other store provides me with such incredible options. This will be a short post today; I'm getting together some reviews and more favorites.

Saturday, May 14, 2011

My 5 Favorite Albums of the 2000's (Part 2)

3. The Moon & Antarctica, Modest Mouse

     Pretentious people sometimes say, "I love their old stuff. They're not the same anymore." I do this with Modest Mouse. I can't help it, though, because it's completely true. No longer do they release albums like The Moon & Antarctica, a record filled to the brim with emotion. Issac Brock, the lead singer and song-writer of Modest Mouse, starts it all off with "3rd Planet" which probably has some of the best lyrics I've ever heard. It doesn't stop there; "I Came as a Rat" and "Life Like Weeds" hits you with more. The Moon & Antarctica is the last amazing album that Modest Mouse released, and it is highly recommended that you listen to it. Oh, by the way, the title is a reference to Blade Runner, one of my favorite films. How great is that?

Friday, May 13, 2011

One at a Time, Ladies

        So, the spectacular (1) Joel over at the phenomenal (2) has awarded Rants, Reviews, and More with the noble honor (3) of Follower Blog of the Week.

        Considering I only have two posts, at this rate, I'll be called the internet's Mark Twain  after my 10th post. In all seriousness, thank you, Joel. It felt great to be recognized with said award.

Check his blog out at:

Also, part 2 of my 5 favorite albums should be posted tonight.

3 counts of flattery.

Wednesday, May 11, 2011

My 5 Favorite Albums of the 2000's (Part 1)

I'd like to tell you specifically what I love. So, with that in mind, every week I'm simply going to post my five favorite of the following: films, television shows, albums, and books. I intend to do this for every decade so get ready. Now, for the actual show!

1. Unconditional Acceleration, Nullsleep

    One could merely state that Unconditional Acceleration is a series of beeps and boops, and they would not be incorrect. However, I could also say that Monet's artwork is a collection of dots and still be right. UA, with its 5 song composition, is light-years ahead (Pokemon reference!) of most 8-bit albums out now. It begins with the inspirational first notes of "Fearless Flight" and hypnotizes its way from there. Nullsleep's romantic overtones are emphasized especially in "Salvation for a Broken Heart" which allows us to come across the same feeling we got when talking to our high-school crush. It's a jumpy song, but so cleverly organized that it's impossible to not bob your head or tap your foot. Just go listen to "Galaxy Tonite" whether or not you're an 8-bit fan. You'll feel happier 30 seconds in. I'm not going to even attempt to continue reviewing such a potent album; coincidentally, it'd be a lot like explaining love.

Tuesday, May 10, 2011

Hello, World.

      Greetings, internet! I've decided to create a blog to get my thoughts out there because you care what I think, right...? I'll be posting here several times a week, so feel free to visit my site whenever. I plan to write about several topics. They include, but are not limited to:
  • Literature
  • Cinema and television
  • Video games
  • Japanese Media (anime, manga, etc.)
  • Music
  • Thoughts on current events
  • Complaints
  • And (hyperbolic statement in .6 seconds) thousands more! 

      So, it's a pretty straightforward, if not generic, blog with a rare characteristic: it's actually well-written. I'll stop the introduction here. I look forward to writing, and, hopefully, see you all here.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...